When S**T gets real

Jokes stop being funny when they become reality.

Just a few minutes ago we could’ve continued the tirade of jokes on how the haze and high PSI levels can kill people, but when someone in the care of your camp does die, things change.

Death from breathlessness. This marks the second death happening somewhere not too far from where I am, the third case I hear of/see. Pending investigation, cause of/contributant to death undetermined.

Was he a smoker? Did he have an N95 facemask on? Is he asthmatic? Was the facemask issued too late? Legitimate questions to prevent more cases, but glosses over the main point: someone has just passed away. 

I tried to gei-kiang this week. When the haze first came I didn’t wear the mask for 3 days. Then came friday morning when I felt my lungs clogged upon waking up. What if I didn’t make it through the night that day?

Leave a comment